Clinical Councils and Community Advisory Committee

MPHN has established four Clinical Councils and a Community Advisory Committee to assist in the identification of opportunities to improve primary healthcare across the Murrumbidgee. These committees are an important part of the MPHN governance infrastructure and play a significant role in supporting the delivery of best practice healthcare. They also provide advice about population health planning and the commissioning of services.

The clinicians and community representatives engaged on these committees bring varied experiences and insights to assist in improved understanding of health needs and to inform service planning and delivery.

Clinical Councils

Clinical leadership is important in shaping health service delivery and improving the effectiveness of healthcare outcomes. MPHN has established four clinical councils across the region to reflect the diversity of healthcare needs across the region.

Membership of the clinical council includes a broad range of clinicians working in these local areas including: GPs, allied and mental health professionals, nurses and pharmacists. All four clinical councils are chaired by a GP from that local area.

The clinical councils are based in four geographical sectors in line with four rural groupings.

  1. Wagga Wagga
  2. Border: Barham, Moama, Deniliquin, Finley, Jerilderie, Berrigan, Tocumwal, Corowa, Howlong, Culcairn, Henty, Lockhart, Urana and Holbrook
  3. Western: Griffith, Narrandera, Leeton, Hay, Hillston, Darlington Point, Coleambally and Lake Cargelligo
  4. Riverina: Temora, Young, Harden, Boorowa, Cootamundra, West Wyalong, Junee, Gundagai, Coolamon, Tumut, Batlow, Adelong and Tumbarumba

The four clinical council GP Chairs are voting members on the MPHN Planning and Integration Committee which make recommendations to the Board. This may include recommendations regarding: 

  • clinical issues that are unique to the needs of the region
  • opportunities to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of medical and healthcare services
  • population health planning
  • commissioning of programs and services that support local and national priorities.

Community Advisory Committee

MPHN has established a Community Advisory Committee (CAC) which is informed by 33 local health advisory committees (LHACs) from across the Murrumbidgee region.

Membership of the CAC includes four LHAC Chairs, one drawn from each of the four geographical sectors.

CAC members provide input to the Board through membership of the MPHN Planning and Integration Committee.